Have you given your $14.64

I don’t believe that people are innately evil or selfish (at least not entirely), and it’s stories like this one that remind me why. The residents at a homeless shelter in Baltimore, MD pooled their resources and came up with $14.64 to donate to their local Red Cross chapter to help with relief efforts in Haiti. I couldn’t help but appreciate the irony that I was reading this story while blowing $8.72 on a pizza in a ritzy mall in San Jose. Could I scrape together more money to donate? Yes. Could you?

I also couldn’t help noticing that that $14.64 (which probably involved a lot more sacrifice than the $100 I’m giving) came from the people we shamelessly label the “losers” in our society.

[Hat tip: Bonnie]

Leave a Reply

