The Bookshelf Challenge, Update Two

It’s been a week since I started my bookshelf challenge, and so far, I’ve successfully avoided buying or borrowing any new books. A few days ago, I decided I could part with The Haskell School of Expression, and after starting The Road to Reality, I decided that just wasn’t all that important, so two of the “difficult” books are going. I’m still clinging to the Visual Complex Analysis book, which is probably silly, since I’m least likely to actually sit down and work my way through that one. Oh well, letting go of old identities is hard.

All told, I’m now down to twenty eight unread books. Five of those I’m keeping regardless of whether I get around to reading them, since they’re Montessori books which I’ll need for school next year. That makes 23 that I really have to deal with. This is progress.

[Update: After writing this post, I realized that hanging onto the complex analysis book is mostly a matter of clinging to my old identity of mathematician. If I seriously decide to go back to it, I will be able to find another copy of the book. In the meantime, I’m not realistically going to get to it at this point in my life, and I can use that $50 for something else, so it’s on Amazon. That makes 22 books. Go me!]

2 thoughts on “The Bookshelf Challenge, Update Two

  1. The Visual Complex Analysis book is good as complex analysis books go. But I only know it through a library copy, which means I don’t have it taking up space on my bookshelf.

    • superplexa says:

      It really is good, though I could probably stand to go back to something like Marsden and Hoffman first. It’s been a long time since I’ve done any complex analysis. But really, I’m just not going to get around to it anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

