If only we could all be as articulate as this girl

My better half just pointed me towards this interview with a nine-year-old girl named Mason Crumpacker. This young lady made news in the blogosphere when she attended the Texas Freethought meeting and asked Christopher Hitchens about his favourite books. (Why that simple act should be newsworthy, I don’t know, but let’s not quibble.) Anyway, eventually, she (with her parents along for the ride) sat down for an interview with the Dallas News. The transcript is unbelievable. She is calm, articulate, honest, and funny. She also happens to be a Montessorian (though from her description, it sounds like she didn’t think much of her time there).

From the perspective of a Montessori guide, this is my favourite bit:

Did he answer you the way you expected to be answered?

Yes. He was very honest to me and very, very nice. I think all adults should be honest to kids with their answers and take them seriously. They’re living people, too. I especially hate when adults dumb it down for me.

Should you be treated like an adult?

I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing. I like being taken seriously, but I’m just not ready to be an adult. I don’t want to pay taxes. I never want to do that.

I could quote this interview further, but I’d just end up quoting the whole thing. Just read it. It’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

